Ye Olde Lemonade Stand

English poet Andrew Marvell is sometimes cited as being the only writer to use wingèd as a two-syllable word in “To His Coy Mistress.” However, Neil Diamond weaved a little poetic magic in his 1974 hit by informing a loved one during his “Longfellow Serenade” they would leave this worldly time “on his wingèd flight.” 

When I bike through various neighborhoods on my 1990 Schwinn Cruiser, I carry change with me in case I encounter any young entrepreneurs offering cold lemonade to thirsty travelers. Back in the 1990s the rate was 25¢ a cup. 50¢ a cup is now the going rate in this part of Wisconsin.

Marvell heard Time’s wingèd chariot hurrying near, but at my back as I draw near the not-so-coy sellers of liquid refreshment I hear the spirit of Jack Benny whispering “Ask them how much if you bring your own cup.”

 

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

